Rothbury Festival Comes out of Nowhere!

Ever since the release of the Coachella 2008 lineup, I’ve been reeling and writhing in agony just waiting for a better festival to present itself. Then out of no where the Rothbury Festival arrives… and… furthers my fall into a sad sad musical depression.

rothbury-3.jpg

The Coachella forum has been rumoring this mystery festival for a little while now, and it seems like there are plenty of people out there just like me just waiting with baited breath for something better to come our way. I’m glad to see I’m not the only opportunist. And whats that shit they say about how idealists never succeed?! I won’t believe it!!

Either way, it doesn’t look like this is going to be THE festival I’ve been hoping for though… but the lineup is pretty decent, just not quite enough for me to take the bait. Seems that the longer I wait the more my hopes on Lollapalooza, Sasquatch and the All Points West Festival seem to grow.

As per the Rothbury Festival: (To be held in Rothbury, Michigan between July 3-6)

Here are some of the highlights:

Dave Matthews Band + Widespread Panic + John Mayer + 311 + Phil Lesh and Friends + Primus + Thievery Corporation + Snoop Dogg + Modest Mouse + Michael Franti and Spearhead + Gov’t Mule + Slightly Stoopid + STS9 + Colbie Caillat + The Black Keys + Yonder Mountain String Band with Jon Fishman + Gogol Bordello + Citizen Cope + Keller Williams and The WMD’S + The Disco Biscuits+ Medeski Martin & Wood + Ray LaMontagne + Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi Soul Stew Revival + Drive-By Truckers + Of Montreal + The Dresden Dolls + Gomez + Brett Dennen + Taj Mahal + Mike Gordon + Zappa Plays Zappa

More news to come…

4 Responses to “Rothbury Festival Comes out of Nowhere!”

  1. What’s with bringing back old ass bands and geezers?

    I think this festival is more for smoking weed, and Coachella more for LSD and MDMA. I have dreamed of smoking with Snoop, the boys from Thievery, and Medeski Martin and Wood maybe some jazz infused remixes of Sensual Seduction?

  2. attemptedmustache Says:

    Dude… I don’t know… It’s like the year of the dinosaur.
    And like…’smoking with Snoop’– more likely outcome would be ‘get raped and shot’ by Snoop, and have him get away with it 😉

  3. You are all idiots. Rothbury fest is the bomb lineup except for John Mayer and all the mainstream crap (DMB, Snoop). Best lineup I’ve ever seen. Go ahead and go to your other festivals, more room for me. I’ll be in Michigan 7/4! Old ass bands and geezers…WTF? Um no. I think it’s time for an Incident….let’s hope!

  4. apocalypse Says:

    dude this festival will kick so much ass , i will bring enough lsd and mdma for everyone

Leave a Reply

